15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   hoodpin

Newcomer

• Active Members
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 19-February 07

Posted 29 April 2007 - 07:11 PM

hello folks,
my question is that I am 51 years old and just really getting started with the guitar. I have been a carpenter for 30 yrs and my joints have really taken a beating over time, can you recommend anything to help stretch them and loosen them up?
thanks

#2 OFFLINE   allthumbs

• Active Members

• 16,550 posts
  • Joined 11-February 05

Posted 29 April 2007 - 07:58 PM

Standard finger and wrist stretches will do the trick. Do some stretches using the fretboard is a good idea too. 1 finger per fret over 4 frets to start. Use the Capo Lane lesson in Kirks lesson for a warm up. It works very well for that. I am sure other members will give you lots of help with stretching exercises.

#3 OFFLINE   X4StringDrive

Prolific Member

• Active Members

• 6,356 posts
  • Joined 04-March 07

Posted 29 April 2007 - 08:06 PM

Hi hoodpin I agree with allthumbs advise and let me add the word "time". It gets easier, your only 1000 give or take days older than me and I too worked with my hands...give it time, start out slow and just practice they'll limber up and out in no time :)

#4 OFFLINE   scott58

• Active Members
  • 408 posts
  • Joined 25-February 07

Posted 30 April 2007 - 12:45 AM

Don't forget the motrin. helps me alot.
Dean Icon PZ - Dean V-Wing Dove - Dean 79 ML SilverBurst - Line 6 Variax 700 - Vox DA 20 - Valve Jr head/cab - Wampler SuperPlextortion - Line 6 Pod XT Live - Phonics 620 Power Pod PA

#5 OFFLINE   tomg123

Grand Member

• Active Members
  • 2,102 posts
  • Joined 11-July 06

Posted 30 April 2007 - 01:31 AM

You may have a head start on the calluses being a carpenter

#6 OFFLINE   skinnybloke

Grand Member

• Active Members

• 1,542 posts
  • Joined 17-July 06

Posted 30 April 2007 - 02:42 AM

Hi hoodpin