AeroHudson

Electric Acoustic or Acoustic??

AeroHudson    0

I am a guitar newb. I just starting playing on an old stratocaster loaned to me by a good friend on Tuesday of last week. After playing for a week, learning the 8 primary "cowboy" chords and spending about an hour at guitar center being in awe over the weekend I officially have the bug.

I am researching a future guitar purchase and want to spend from $200 to $300 on a guitar. From what I have read getting a solid top of some type should be a priority and I definitely want an acoustic guitar of some type. The question is should I by an electric acoustic or take the additional money it would take to get one and just get a better quality standard acoustic?

Any other suggestions on the brand of guitar would be helpful as well. My friend has a nice Takimine that is just gorgeous and I have seen some Fender, Ibanez and Ovatiob models that looks and sound pretty darn good.

Thanks in advance for the assistance!! :)

allthumbs    8

I have a Washburn Folk that I am happy with but, there are so many reasonably priced electro-acoustics to choose from. Your best bet is to play as many as you can till you find one that feels and plays well in your hands.

AeroHudson    0

Thanks for the feedback! The more I get into researching a guitar purchase the more I get the feeling I should invest the money in just a solid acoustic guitar and not the electronics in an EA version.

Can you give me some thoughts on the following guitar makers in the $200 to $300 price range?

- Fender

- Takamine

- Epiphone

- Ibanez

- Ovation

- Any other you can recommend??

Thanks again folks!!

fly135    5

If you think that you may be recording yourself in the near future then I would suggest getting an acoustic/electric. The clarity and fullness of sound you get from plugging in direct will be more difficult to get miced until you get a good mic, stand, preamp/mixer and some experience setting it up.

scott58    0